My favorite tree in Pangarap

If you could zoom through space in the speed of light, what place would you go to right now?

I want to go to a place where I could rest for a while and dream again.

I want to sit under my favorite umbrella tree in Pangarap.  I dream to stay there as long as I want and as long as the tree wants to embrace me with its wide branches.  Its green and red-orange leaves would serve as my shade while still letting some rays of sunlight pass through their spaces.  The smell of the freshly cut grass and the moist rocks will make me feel like I’m somewhere far from the city.  I also want to breathe some fresh air but that would not be possible since my favorite tree is planted in a center island of a highway where buses, jeepneys, trucks, and private cars pass by.  Hmm, it’s okay.  I will  just hope that their horns would be harmonious with the songs of the birds up the tree and then I’ll breathe in as much fresh air as possible HAHA. 😀

 

 

Now, back to reality.

I have just read an article about trees being cut down for road widening projects; it broke my heart. And so now, I want to go to DPWH and DENR and ask them why they are killing the trees. But, of course, they will not answer me sincerely. Haay. I want to do something, but I don’t know what I could do to save the trees. :/

Maybe, I could go to a road widening project (and hug the trees) and then stop the DPWH men from axing the trees… but with me alone? I don’t think it’s possible.  Maybe, I could go to the community and encourage them to fight for the rights of the trees… but are we that determined and passionate to speak for the trees, just like what Lorax did? Hmm.

Oh, this is what I’ll do: As I enter the classroom this June, I will instill to my students the importance of trees in our lives.  Also, I wish to develop in them values that would make them honorable and excellent government officials someday. That’s what I can do for now – invest on my students.

 

PS I hope DPWH has no plans yet to widen Quirino highway because I really want to sit under my favorite umbrella tree in Pangarap someday.

 

My second writing assignment 🙂

Writing 101, Day Two: A Room with a View (Or Just a View)

Leave a Reply

