Sending off the graduates

I cried.  Just saying the words, “Lord, thank you for DCF,” made me cry.

It was our prayer time and we were at CRL Sunrise Kiosk for DCF’s Send Off General Assembly for graduating students.  At first I hesitated to attend the GA because I had been “sent off” last year (though I still have one semester to study) and so, I thought it would be awkward if I’d be there hoping to be sent off again. Yeah. But because I couldn’t resist being with DCF and realized this could be the last time I can be with them, I attended.  I thank God, He let me drop off my hesitations.

The message was just what graduating students needed to hear before stepping out of the “comforts” of UP:

  • As a Christian, your future is not your own.
  • The next chapter of your life will make or break you.
  • How can we continue in the faith?
  1. Consistently walk with the Lord.

  2. Do not compromise.

  3. Do your work excellently.

  4. Manage well your resources.

  5. Do it all for the glory of God.

Ooh…,

the thought of graduating and moving on to the next chapter of my life finally sank in through me.  The host called out the names of each graduating student, my name included hihi, and we were asked to stand in front so everyone could pray for us.

Image

I started  to become emotional.

Lord, thank you.  That was all I could say.

Thank you for DCF.  Then tears started to fall.  Thank you for letting me stay in a dorm.  Thank you for my roommate whom you used so that I may know DCF.  Thank you for providing me a second home during my early years in UP.  Thank you for giving me a family through the DCFers.  Thank you for all that I have learned in every fellowship and prayer meeting.  Thank you for my loving ates and kuyas who by their actions showed me how to care for the younger ones.  Thank you, Lord.  Thank you.  I kept wiping my face with my hands as tears flowed with every thank you I say.  Thank you for your grace in my acads, in my responsibilities and commitments, in my relationships.  Thank you Lord.  Thank you for every learning opportunity.  Yes, thank you for my life, for my college life, for my dorm life.  Surely, my UP life would not be complete if I weren’t a dormer, If I had not known DCF.  You made everything possible, God.  Thank you for your love.  I thank you because You are sovereign.  I thank you for your plans, your wonderful plans.  Thank you for the future with hope. Thank you, Lord. Thank you.

The prayer ended and I just wanted to cry it all out.  Those were tears of joy.  Yes, tears of joy, of thanksgiving.  God made my college life complete with His daily sufficient grace.  I couldn’t thank Him enough.  My friends hugged me and I thanked God for their hugs.  Then there were few drops of tears of sadness.  I will miss my dear brothers and sisters.

Image

I kept this name tag thinking it might be my last name tag from DCF.  Just then I realized, I could still be with DCF again someday. 🙂

After the prayer time, the DCF Alumni Association welcomed us to their group.  Haha.  It is comforting to know that we will not totally lose our connection with DCF as we graduate.  I am thankful that we could still keep our ties bonded. Yiee! I am excited to meet my fellow DCF alumni and help out in God’s ministry through DCF.  Also, they said we would be preparing for the celebration of our 25th year anniversary this November! Hooray! 😀

Image,

Thank you Lord, for UP Dormitories Christian Fellowship, for this fellowship of Christian dormers in our beloved campus. ❤

Leave a Reply

