Christ died for you. Are you living for Him?

Lent is about looking back and reflecting on what Christ did for us on the cross.  He died in our place because of our sins.  We receive forgiveness from God because of Jesus’ sacrifice.

This is the season to think and rethink how we are living our lives.  Christ died for us.  Are we living for Him?  Christ died for me, a sinner.  Am I living for Him?  Am I loving Him more than anything else – or anyone else?  What does it mean to actually live for Christ?

Living for Christ means denying myself.  It is leaving the things that makes me self-fulfilled.  It is forgetting my pride, my selfish desires and ambitions.  It is putting on Christ.  It is doing what He would do if He were in my situation.  It is living life knowing that Christ is in me.

Living for Christ means carrying my cross.  Sacrificing is not an option; it is part of the Christian life.  Yes, the road leading to life is narrow and God did not promise it to be an easy journey, but He promised to be with us each step of the way.  His plans for us are perfect.  And God is holding us.  He will never let us go.  Because of His unfailing love, we are not consumed; His mercies are new every morning.  As we carry our cross daily, we can depend on His sufficient grace.

Living for Christ means following Jesus daily.  Walking with Him.  Having a closer relationship with Him day by day.  Talking with Him through prayer.  Listening to His words through the Bible.  Trusting His promises.  Seeking, desiring and obeying His will.  Following Jesus means doing what He wants us to do and going where He wants us to go.  The Lord is our shepherd; He wants to lead our lives.  Let us follow Him with all we are.

 

Thank you, Jesus, for giving me life, for giving me hope.  By your grace, let me live for You alone.  Thank you for Your love.  Alleluia!  I praise You for who You are, God.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

