just mean hope

Smile! Something good is on its way

2048: Game Over

on March 17, 2014

2048

Yeah! I won! :D
I saw my friends playing this game last Friday. The numbers took my interest and while watching a friend play, I was kind of wishing and waiting for the Game Over to appear on the screen. Hihi. Yeah, that was a not so good wish; I feel silly remembering I wished for it.
A little later, it was my turn.  Wow! It was exciting and challenging! And I was pressured a bit because I am older than them so I felt like I should always make the right moves.  Haha. After a few rounds, a friend called to meet me and so I needed to say goodbye to the game, and oh, to my playmates, too. :p

At home, I checked the game online and played it for just an hour.  And uhm, for another hour.  I played for almost two hours. Or more. Yeah, I think for more than two hours. Oooh.  I got hooked.  No, this shouldn’t be! I had many last games until I finally played the last…for that night.

The next morning, yeah, you’re right, I was in front of the laptop again, playing 2048.  Pleasure came every time I scored higher and then there was the desire to score higher the next game.  If I didn’t need to go, I would have played for hours.  Thank God, I needed to go.  I can’t stop playing by my own will and so I needed an external force to stop me.  I stopped.  I reached 1024.

I travelled with my father.  I could see the numbers and the grid.  I tried to read a book to divert my thoughts.  I was successful.

I arrived at my tutee’s house.  We studied conjunctions, sentences, electricity, rocks, and planets for three hours.  You could imagine how tired our brains were after the session.  We needed a rest and so we watched and fed their orange fishes, observed the red ants, ate cake and fries, and played sungka and water-less water gun for the next hour.  I enjoyed every activity.  I mean it.  :)

I left at 5:30pm; her mother dropped me at the highway to wait for a bus.  While waiting, I saw the grid and the numbers again.  I was moving the tiles left and right to merge two like numbers into one. Oh, no!  It was so tiring!  I rode a bus and when a vacant seat was made available for me, I closed my eyes to sleep.  I lacked sleep last night because of 2048; this is my opportunity to rest, I thought.  But…

When I closed my eyes, argh! The grid appeared again.  I couldn’t rest.  I texted my friends who introduced the game to me and shared my experience.  I read the book again to divert my thoughts.  A few minutes later, I fell asleep.

That night, I managed not to play the game.  Control yourself, Jas, I kept reminding myself.  I felt fulfilled not turning the laptop on.

Tonight, I saw the laptop and turned it on.  You know what happened next.  I just wanted to reach 2048 so that I could finally stop playing it again and again.  And I also wanted to show it to my friends and feel proud of my achievement.  After three (or four?) long games (yes, long, because each game took me almost 30 minutes), I finally reached 2048!  It was a wow.  I was surprised how it happened.  I was happy!  Now I could tell my friends I reached it. Right away, I posted it on my Facebook wall.  It was a nice accomplishment.

 

Right now, after reflecting on what this 2048 had done to me this weekend, I realized something.  I love numbers.  I love playing with numbers.  I love being challenged to think.  I love seeing patterns.  I enjoyed the game, yes.  I felt satisfied while playing, yeah, but as I notice how it was eating my time, I felt guilty.  Playing 2048 for more than two hours a day made me feel, uhm, like it was, uhm, a guilty pleasure, or something like that.  Yeah, for real.  Even blogging about how I got hooked on it made me feel uneasy.  I realized I had spent too much time for it.

I won. Right.  I’m glad I won the game now because that means I can stop on playing it again and again. Right. I should be happy.

Oooooh. That’s it! Right! I won! Haha. I can free myself from this game now! Yes, I should really be happy!

Haha.  There, there. I’m thankful I have finished the game tonight because that means I can stop on playing it again and again! Now I could do more productive things again! Yes!

Hello real life games -with less pressure and more fun!  Hello animals and plants!  Hello sky and wind! Hello fellow humans!  Hello to God’s world where I can experience real satisfaction!  And rest! Hello peace!

The game is over. Yey!  I want to say goodbye to you, 2048.  Even to you, worldwideweb. I hope I could really do.  Good bye for now virtual world! I need to experience more things in the real world.  I guess, I’ll be here less often starting now.

Right, I need to.

Hmm… Be online for just two hours a day starting today?  Yeah, that would do.

 

 

By your grace, Lord, let me spend more of my time with You, with my family, friends, neighbors, and pets.  Let me do more things with my hands and fingers aside from pressing the keys on the laptop.  Let me use my whole body, my energy, my time and my mind for Your glory alone.  Teach me to truly love You with all my heart, with all my soul, with my all mind, and with all my strength. Thank You for loving me, Lord. I love you, too! <3

2 responses to “2048: Game Over

  1. Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution
    and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry
    for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

